My Experience in an Ice Storm

img_1721
The Ice beginning to melt – Feb. 9, 2017 (Backyard)

It was February. 7, 2017.

I had heard news of a storm brewing in the midst on my way home from the gym the night before. As I stepped out of the house at around 6:30am that morning, the weather was great (for the winter). I thought hey, these news reporters must’ve been wrong for once!

I was indoors all day. After finishing up some work at Second Cup in the later hours of the night (11pm) I decided to head home.

As I stepped outside for the first time I had almost slipped! There was ice EVERYWHERE. Thankfully, I got onto the bus safely.

An hour and 20 minutes later, I get to my stop and the world around me- ICE. Now let me tell you about my walk home from the nearest bus stop..

I cross the street with an older man, telling him to be careful, walk slow and steady because it’s icy. As we get to the end of the street we part ways, he had someone pick him up by a plaza nearby.

“Farewell and get home safe,” he said.

I continue my walk and I hear a loud thump behind me. I turn around and see ice sequentially falling down the power lines! If I was a couple steps away from where I was standing, I would’ve gotten knocked out on the way home! These power lines are HIGH.

I wish I had gotten a picture of the environment around me, but all I was thinking about was getting home.. It was cold, I had a long day, and I just wanted to have dinner and get to bed.. Damnit!

Anyways, there’s a dog park that acts as a short-cut to my place. But the problem is that it’s a downhill and uphill adventure. And of course, as you would imagine, there was ice EVERYWHERE. Me, being me, decides to go through the dog park. Hey it was cold and I didn’t want to spend an extra couple minutes outside.

I carefully slide down the park (I can skate by the way). Going uphill was the tricky part. But I looked to my right and saw some snow/ice I call it. Step onto this weird solid substance and make it up.

When I got home, my family was asleep. My brother was up playing video games. It’s really weird Canada is. Everyday, people go through little obstacles- and in my case, potentially life threatening situations. But most people don’t see it as a big deal. We just go about our day, and carry on.

Everyone goes through obstacles. And wherever you are, whomever you are, I know you can get through them and do as Canadians do with the weather- just carry on.

Take care.

Leave a like, follow, comment, let’s talk! x

 

Leave a Reply

